Have I ever mentioned that I’ve gone Cold Sheep for my New Year’s resolution? I designed this as a bit of a scrapbuster for my cotton yarns, to get rid of my leftovers quickly so I could make progress. I also wanted to use my new stitch dictionary400 Knitting Stitches by Potter Craftand this was one of the perfect ones to use.
It’s simply a large dishcloth, with a loop to hang it and a single crochet panel for extra scrubbing power! I made mine with two colors for a bright appearance. Since I used lime green and bright blue, so my dishcloth is very Mystery Machine-esque. It can also be made with one, if you want a more modern look.

-Gauge should be about 22 sts per 4″, and rows are relatively unimportant. I used US size 7 (4.5mm) straights and a 3.0mm crochet hook with some regular cotton yarn.
-I ended up with a 8″-9″ by 8″ square dishcloth by the time that I was done and had used it a couple times.

Knitted Panel
Cast on 50 sts in MC (if working with 2 colors). Knit as follows.

Rows 1 and 3: (k1, p1) to end
Rows 2 and 4: (p1, k1) to end
Rows 5 and 7: k1, p1, k1, knit to last 3 sts, k1, p1, k1
Row 6: p1, k1, p1. (p4, k2) to last 5 sts, p2, k1, p1, k1
Row 8: p1, k1, p3, (k2, p4) to last 3 sts, k1, p1, k1

Repeat rows 5 to 8 till piece measures 5.5″ long. Do not repeat rows 1 to 4, your seed stitch border. Bind off.

Crocheted Panel
Using a crochet hook to match your gauge, (sc) across in CC (if working with 2 colors). Chain 1 before turning your work each row, and repeat. When the crocheted piece measures 2.5″ long, make a chain of sts any length you like that comes from the corner. Slipstitch into the same corner you chained from to make a sizable loop to hang your cloth. Cut yarn. Weave in all loose ends.

