I needed something to use up my remaining KnitPicks Swish Worsted, a very soft yarn that I only really had warm colors left of. This is what I came up with—a simple, chevron hat.
The fair isle helped give it extra bulk for warmth, but the plain rows aid it in staying stretchy. I tried to whip this up before I went visiting family, so it had to remain a fairly basic pattern in case I needed to finish it on the bus (which I did). It was a quick knit overall, would make a good gift, and would make an excellent scrapbuster if you were willing to do it in many different colors!
Modeled by my mom’s boyfriend. 🙂

-Gauge should be 20 sts per 4″ and 28 rows per 4″ using worsted weight yarn on circular needles. I had to use US size 10 needles, but I am an exceptionally tight knitter. You will need 2-3+ colors. Instructions provided for my color palette.
-It fits a 22.4″ head circumference, and up.

Brim
Cast on 112 sts to circulars in yellow. Join in the round. Place st marker to mark beginning of the round. Knit 2 by 2 ribbing for 6 rounds, then…

Body
…begin knitting as indicated by chart.Chevron HatMeasure the length of the hat thus far. If it does not measure 5″ long yet, knit a couple of plain red rounds.

Crown Shaping
Place st markers every 14 sts. Decrease as follows.
Round 1: (k to 2 sts before marker, k2tog) to end
Round 2: knit to end
When 8 sts remain, skip round 2. Cut yarn, weave twice through live sts, pulling tightly. Weave in all loose ends.

006009.JPG

